Opera in the Quarry

2018

No Opera in the Quarry

Dear Sir or Madam,

In 2014, Arenaria GmbH and the Esterhazy Group bailed out the Aida production of the private organiser, which had gone bankrupt, with a substantial financial expenditure. Because of these measures, the Aida tickets retained their validity, visitors and tourism partners avoided losses and numerous performers kept their employment. Arenaria GmbH subsequently organised three high-quality opera productions that were received with enthusiasm by the public and critics. However, despite indirect economic profitability of about 30 million euros and an annual tax revenue of about one million euros, these efforts were not appreciated by the state. The top-ranking officials of Burgenland denied any financial or non-material assistance; applications for funding received no response and invitations to discussion and to opening nights were not accepted. Arenaria GmbH was forced to take legal action against the state due to discriminatory treatment in the allocation of funding. The court fully agreed with Arenaria. Nevertheless, no accommodation was made in terms of policy to support this major, artistically and economically important event.

The Esterhazy Group fulfils the mission of its endowment by preserving Schloss Esterházy, Schloss Lackenbach and Burg Forchtenstein and making them available to the public and by supporting classical music in the tradition of Haydn. However, it is not possible to stage a 2018 opera production at the St. Margarethen stone quarry without any assistance or recognition from the state.

The Esterhazy Group continues to offer a diverse and broad cultural programme in Burgenland; for example, the HERBSTGOLD- Festival in Eisenstadt will begin on 6 September, 2017. The entire 2018 programme will be presented in detail this autumn.

We thank you for your understanding!

Oper im Steinbruch

2018

Keine Oper im Steinbruch St. Margarethen

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

Im Jahr 2014 retteten die Arenaria GmbH und die Esterhazy Gruppe mit beträchtlichem finanziellen Aufwand die AIDA Produktion des in Konkurs geratenen privaten Veranstalters. Dank dieser Maßnahme behielten die AIDA-Tickets ihre Gültigkeit, Schaden wurde von Besuchern und touristischen Partnern abgewandt und zahlreiche Mitwirkende behielten ihre Anstellung. In Folge veranstaltete die Arenaria GmbH drei hochqualitative Opernproduktionen, die vom Publikum und Kritik begeistert angenommen wurden. Allerdings wurden diese Anstrengungen von Landesseite trotz wirtschaftlicher Umwegrentabilität von rund Euro 30 Mio. und einem jährlichen Steueraufkommen von rund einer Million Euro nicht gewürdigt. Die burgenländischen Landesspitzen verweigerten jede finanzielle und ideelle Unterstützung: Förderansuchen wurden nicht beantwortet, Gesprächseinladungen nicht Folge geleistet, Premiereneinladungen nicht angenommen. Die Arenaria GmbH musste wegen Ungleichbehandlung bei der Fördervergabe gegen das Land ein Verfahren führen. Das Gericht hat der Arenaria vollumfänglich Recht gegeben. Trotzdem gab es kein Entgegenkommen von Seiten der Politik, diese künstlerisch und wirtschaftlich bedeutende Großveranstaltung zu unterstützen.

Die Esterhazy Gruppe kommt ihrem Stiftungsauftrag nach, indem sie Schloss Esterházy, Schloss Lackenbach und Burg Forchtenstein erhalten, der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen und klassische Musik in der Haydntradition fördert. Eine Opernproduktion 2018 im Steinbruch St. Margarethen ohne jegliche Unterstützung und Wertschätzung durch das Land ist aber nicht möglich.

Die Esterhazy Gruppe steht weiterhin für ein vielfältiges und breites Kulturangebot im Burgenland, beispielsweise beginnt bereits mit 6. September 2017 das HERBSTGOLD - Festival in Eisenstadt. Das Gesamtangebot für 2018 wird im heurigen Herbst detailliert vorgestellt.


Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis!